Missional Field Notes

Quotes, Examples, and Ideas from My Missional Frontier

After biting off way more than I could chew in Lent of this year, I’m finally taking this summer to work my way through the Disciplemaking course from The Verge Network.

So, in that spirit, let me start off with some of the Jesus-ness of Discipleship from their course:

Effective disciplemakers understand and live out the centrality of Jesus in discipleship. Disciplemaking not centered on Jesus means making disciples of someone or something else. Effective disciplemakers understand Who we follow, and the importance of ‘Jesus Is Lord’.

The Incarnation, God in the flesh, does not alter the fundamental, practical God-centered nature of the scriptures; rather it restructures it around Jesus Christ. Jesus becomes the focal point in our relationship to God. Jesus not only initiates the new covenant, he is the New Covenant. “Jesus is Lord” is the covenant claim of God over our lives—the unshakable center of the Christian creed and confession.

At its very heart, Christianity is a Jesus movement, one that seeks to consistently embody the life, spirituality, and mission of its Founder. “Jesus is Lord” is about our becoming like Jesus our Lord and Founder. This confession lies at the epicenter of the church’s task.

One of the thing that I find separates me from some of my progressive (more progressive?) sisters and brothers is my own, personal understanding of Jesus as Lord. No, it’s not just “me and Jesus” but it is the reason I do what I do.  I appreciate the Jesus-ness of this quote and the emphasis of the course.

Leave a Reply

