Missional Field Notes

Quotes, Examples, and Ideas from My Missional Frontier

I love cooking with crockpots. I love being able to get everything together in the morning, throw it in the crockpot, and let it cook all day. Then you get to come home after a long day and be greeted by the aroma of whatever it is you’ve been cooking–chicken, a pot-roast, soup…whatever.

Sometimes, however, I don’t get everything put together. Sometimes I have my inspiration for dinner a little later in the day.  I know you can cook on “high” rather than “low.”  But it still can take 5 hours or so.  Sometimes that’s just too long.  And I hate that…especially when I have a vision for what I want to see happen.

Sigh.

There’s a reason another name for a crockpot is a “slow cooker.”

Such it is with ministry as well. I know things take a while. But sometimes I just want it all to move faster than it does. There are many posts on this site about how slow discipleship and “missional church” is.

Here’s one more… all because I found this from “Pastor Steph” who takes this crockpot image and runs with it:

No matter how often I choose the microwave out of convenience, I am certain that the food tastes better when cooked in the oven, stove top and for MAXIMUM flavor – cooked for hours in a slow-cooking crock pot.

The longer and slower the food cooks, the better is seems to taste!

The more time you take to sit and eat the food, the more enjoyable the experience.

The same is true for Missional Community….

After years of leading these families, I have learned this truth:

Missional Communities are crock pots – not microwaves.

They take time to become what God intends for them to be.

It takes time to discern exactly how to live out your mission on a regular basis.

Thanks “Pastor Steph.”

Leave a Reply

