Missional Field Notes

Quotes, Examples, and Ideas from My Missional Frontier

I am liturgical. There’s no way around it. I like the sacraments. I like a little mystery with my worship. I love traditional prayers. At one of my churches we have Holy Communion each week, which is somewhat out of place in United Methodist circles. So, I find it interesting to see how (what I would consider) more missional churches bring the sacraments into play.

Parable is a “pub church.” The meet over beer and bratwurst. And yet that have Holy Communion. Here’s how it is described by Alisa Carr.

With that level of heart opening, we move into Parable’s unique celebration of Communion – what has drawn me here in the first place. Every week, Steve leads us in the most earthy, intimate, and descriptive telling of the Eucharistic story that I have ever heard. Amidst the clamor of the kitchen, the music of the guitar, bass or other instruments, conversations erupting, and between bites of bratwurst or burgers and sips of beer, wine or tea, we approach the “common table.” Surrounded by all the sounds and would-be distractions, we receive those familiar words of blessing, “The Body of Christ, The Bread of Life…The Blood of Christ, The Cup of Salvation…” as we share table fellowship for all. For this life-long, liturgical, contemplative Episcopalian this is both profane and sacred! It turns out that the line between those two realities is quite murky, if present at all. Being among others who are willing to hold that tension is what keeps me coming back to Parable on The Front Porch!

That’s nice.

Leave a Reply

