Missional Field Notes

Quotes, Examples, and Ideas from My Missional Frontier

Well, it’s not quite a year.

My first post was on January 8th. There I quoted William Stringfellow from a blog by Richard Beck. It had the great quote:

Christians in the world should be signs of grace. In a world governed by death and ruled by the principalities and powers Christians should be sacraments–visible signs of resurrection, love, freedom, life and grace.

Good stuff.

Here are some stats for you…and me.

  • I’ve had 426 posts, making up for my 8 day late start by shooting off more posts near the beginning of the year.
  • My most popular tag? COMMUNITY. Followed by Church and Discipleship. I’ll take that.
  • David Fitch is the most popular source of the quotes I’ve used. I’ll take that as well. I love his stuff.
  • MISSIONAL COMMUNITY is the most popular category (after “uncategorized”). I’ll take that.
  • Oh, and the reach of this blog isn’t very awe inspiring. But it has had 2,374 visitors this year.
  • The most viewed post was “How to B.L.E.S.S. Our Neighbors–an Acronym for our Prayer Walk.”

So, where do we go now? Well, I never thought of this as a long-form blog but more of a collection of quotes and concepts that I’ve found fruitful as I struggle with how to lead and live missionally. That should continue. I have a lot more I want to read and think about. The exercise has been keeping my missional foot in the door even as I try to raise a family and do all the other pastoral work that being a pastor requires.

Perhaps, we can expand our reach for the coming year.

Perhaps not. But I’ve enjoyed the journey.

Thanks for reading some of the notes along the way.

Leave a Reply

